If you don’t want to use Facebook anymore, you can ask to permanently delete your account. Remember that you will not be able to reactivate your account or recover any content.
Before sending such a request, you should download a copy of your data from Facebook. To permanently delete your account without the possibility of restoring it, login to your account and then click this link.
If you delete your account, Facebook users will not be able to display it. Deleting all your content, eg. photos, status updates, or other data stored in backups can take up to 90 days from the start of the removal process. During this time, the information will be available to other Facebook users.
Some actions taken by you on Facebook are not stored in your account. For example, a friend can keep messages from you, even if you delete your account. This information will remain on the site after the removal of your account.
Delete or deactivate?
If deleting your account is too much, you can also deactivate it. What’s the difference between account deactivation and account deletion? Well…
If you deactivate your account, you can reactivate it at any time. When deactivated, you can’t view your timeline and you’re not included in search results. Some information may remain visible (e.g. sent messages). Facebook also keeps your account information (eg. friends, interests) in case you decide to reactivate your account.
Upon removing your account, it will take a few days to fully complete the deletion process. If you log on at any point during this time, the deletion will be canceled.
Remember: after deleting your account, you cannot recover access to it.