You’ve been followed by someone who you don’t know by a profile which is obviously spammy or you’re being harassed by someone? You can block them on Instagram quite easily.
Here’s how step by step:
- On both iOS and Android as well as on the web version of Instagram, you go to the profile you want to block
- Click on the three dots in the top right corner of the profile
- Click on block – or report them if they’re spam or harassing you/posting content against Instagram’s guidelines and then confirm it which will be followed by them being blocked.
When you block a profile, that profile won’t be able to find you, your posts or your story on Instagram. People aren’t notified when you block them. Profiles that you block can still see your likes and comments on posts that were shared by public accounts or accounts they follow.
You can unblock them later but will have to follow them again, which could be a tell-tale sign that you’d blocked them before.