It is possible to delete your account on Twitter by submitting a request to do so. After submitting the request, Twitter stores user data for 30 days from the date of deactivation, then removes them permanently.
If you change your mind, your account can be reactivated at any time during those 30 days, just by logging in. Also remember that you don’t need to deactivate your account to change your username or e-mail. This can be done at any time in the account settings.
After deactivation, the account should be removed within a few minutes, but some content may be visible on the Twitter for several days. They don’t control content indexed by search engines such as Google or Bing.
Keep in mind: Deactivation is not available on the mobile app and must be made on the twitter.com website.
Steps you need to follow to deactivate your Twitter account:
- Register at twitter.com via the Internet.
- Go to your ‘account settings’ and click ‘Deactivate my account’ at the bottom of the page.
- Read the information about deactivation. Click ‘Deactivate Account’.
- Enter your password when prompted, and confirm that you want to deactivate your account.